Options

UK tribute band getting a cease and desist

Comments

• Options
    2-feign-reluctance2-feign-reluctance TigerTown, USA Posts: 23,144
    on2legs said:
    I'm missing why this is a big deal.   I'm no lawyer, but I'm guessing Pearl Jam would have been well within their rights to just skip the letter and sue them for infringement, no?  But instead they made a polite yet firm request for them to cease & desist.  Basically saying... please stop infringing on our name and we'll be cool and not sue you.  That doesn't really make the band bad guys to me.  But maybe I'm missing something here. 
    Yep. Let’s bump some other threads! 
    www.cluthelee.com
  • Options
    drakeheuer14drakeheuer14 Posts: 4,396
    on2legs said:
    I'm missing why this is a big deal.   I'm no lawyer, but I'm guessing Pearl Jam would have been well within their rights to just skip the letter and sue them for infringement, no?  But instead they made a polite yet firm request for them to cease & desist.  Basically saying... please stop infringing on our name and we'll be cool and not sue you.  That doesn't really make the band bad guys to me.  But maybe I'm missing something here. 
    Seems like they just wish Ed would have skyped them and asked instead of a formal letter from representation. Not too much to ask, right?
    Pittsburgh 2013
    Cincinnati 2014
    Greenville 2016
    (Raleigh 2016)
    Columbia 2016
  • Options
    SmellymanSmellyman Asia Posts: 4,520
    on2legs said:
    Seems like they just wish Ed would have skyped them and asked instead of a formal letter from representation. Not too much to ask, right?

I called them and we had a great chat.  It is a bummer lawyers got involved since we came to the mutual understanding that they could keep the name Pearl Jamm.   I am a big fan of their music and their mmerch has some amazing artistry.

Keep on Jamming.

Sincerely,
    Eddie Vedderr
  • Options
    HJFHJF Posts: 2