Options

O.K. how many people here are pregnant?

Comments

• Options
    Brain of J.LoBrain of J.Lo Posts: 3,259
    MeddleDeal wrote:
    thanks twin1 for your input. :) I briefly heard about cutting, and they have to sow you back right and they do it only if they have to? I kind of remember my health teacher talking about that. She warned about how certain doctors will just cut w/o a reason.

I wanted to get a general sense of how it is going to be like once I go through with it. I'm both excited and scared about this, but I have to keep telling myself, I'll be fine. :) I just don't know if I am going to do it fully natural, or get medicated. :/

I think it's become a policy at most hospitals to only do the episiotomy when it's absolutely necessary. And even if you deliver without the epidural, they can still give you a local to numb the area before cutting. (I had an emergency c/s so I have no personal experience with this, though!)

Are you planning to take any kind of class to prepare you for labor? I did, and it helped me to relax a LOT more about the whole process. It's also nice to be around other first-timers who share your nervousness! I took a very basic hospital-run class that didn't lean one way or the other regarding natural vs. drugs. I liked that because they explained all of your pain relief options and also taught a lot of natural pain relieving techniques. (My plan walking into the hospital was to wait and see how much it hurt, and then decide! As it turned out, however, my baby went into distress and I had to have a c/s, so I had an epi.)
  • Options