The Food Thread

Comments

• lmckenney24lmckenney24 Posts: 1,928
    eddiec said:
    My fish guy picked up another Tuna late yesterday. Early morning social media post that some would be available in the market today.

I made Tuna ribbons with a ginger infused Dashi.
    Impressive man, looks great.
  • eddieceddiec Posts: 3,832
    edited March 2021
    GlowGirl said:
    eddiec said:
    My fish guy picked up another Tuna late yesterday. Early morning social media post that some would be available in the market today.

That is beautiful. Are you a professional chef? Your food always looks so amazing. 
    Thanks. I'm not a professional chef but I did work making pizza for a time. 
    Post edited by eddiec on
  • Get_RightGet_Right Posts: 12,440
    eddiec said:

Ribbons? Did you use a spiralizer? :)
  • rgambsrgambs Posts: 13,576
    Spring rolls for lunch.
    Got a little carried away with the Sriracha for mine.  

How do you cook them?  Do the ingredients go in steamed or does the whole thing get steamed??
    Monkey Driven, Call this Living?
  • F Me In The BrainF Me In The Brain this knows everybody from other commets Posts: 30,587
    They actually don't steam....
    The shrimp and rice noodles are cooked.
    Everything else is raw (for these, mint, lettuce, carrots, scallions, cilantro, carrots, strawberries)

The rice paper goes into a warm water bath (I had the large skillet shown about half filled with warm water) for about 5 seconds, you then lay the wrap on the board, fill with toppings, and roll.

I am sure I will get better at rolling - easier with less items - and we will find different combinations we like.  Last time we had no fruit and it made a big difference to get some sweetness and something with a bit of liquid in there.

Easy and find of fun - rolling food into items always seems fun.
    The love he receives is the love that is saved