Options

Donald Trump

Comments

• Options
    PJ_SoulPJ_Soul Vancouver, BC Posts: 49,764
    you call it denial, I call it objectivity. 
    I don't think it's objective to blatantly ignore obvious incoherence. But okay.
    With all its sham, drudgery, and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world. Be careful. Strive to be happy. ~ Desiderata
  • Options
    Go BeaversGo Beavers Posts: 8,744
    dignin said:
    I don't find anything scary about it at all. After reading the entire article, we get to the crux of it at the bottom:

I am not a medical professional, and I will not pretend to know what is truly happening here. It’s become a common conversation topic in Washington to muse on whether the president is suffering from some form of cognitive decline or psychological malady. I don’t think those hypotheses are necessary or meaningful. Whatever the cause, it is plainly obvious from Trump’s words that this is not a man fit to be president, that he is not well or capable in some fundamental way. That is an uncomfortable thing to say, and so many prefer not to say it, but Trump does not occupy a job where such deficiencies can be safely ignored.

the author is explicitly stating here that Trump is not necessarily in cognitive decline, but just plainly unfit for the job, which I absolutely agree with. I think he has a fundamental misunderstanding about his role and how it is defined (i.e: not a dictator). he spews rhetoric about how he has done this or done that and who said this and who said that, in my opinion, not necessarily because he doesn't understand the reality, but he knows his base doesn't care to do the actual research, that they just lap up what he says as fact. or maybe he is so narcissistic, it is possible he believes the nonsense he says. but that's not necessarily a mental illness. it represents not being fit to be president, but it doesn't make him mentally unstable.