Options

The video game thread.

Comments

• Options
    mca47mca47 Posts: 13,252
    Jason P said:
    Flight Sim 2020 for Series X is the Chill Game of the Year.  Picked up a Thrustmaster HOTAS One flight stick for $90 and it is a worthy purchase if you intend to play this game.  For someone like me that used to spend a lot of time on Google Earth, this is pretty amazing.  Real world map so you can fly over your uncle's house in parts unknown.   I've flown in Yosemite, under the Mackinaw bridge, NYC, Seattle, San Diego coast, and a ton of places I lived and grew up in and it is incredibly realistic.  And I'm just learning the entry Cesna 152 and having a blast. 

Series X even supports keyboard ... mouse support isn't working properly yet.   Once mouse support is hopefully figured out, it will make the game ideal for playing with a HOTAS stick ... right now I need to use the xbox controller in tandem for looking around the cockpit making instrument adjustments and moving cameras which isn't ideal, but I can make due.  The mouse works for a little bit, but then cuts out. 

I just open the world map and pick a spot, load Spotify in the background and go on a road air trip.

Ohhh, and a Top Gun expansion is coming this fall.  Oh yeah!

(note: i think they totally wiffed on that high five attempt) :D
    Nice!  I have it for my gaming PC.  Got the yolk, throttle quadrant and pedals.  It's def a lot of fun.
    I mainly bought it so I could use it to stay...somewhat current....when I'm not actually flying.  I was in flight school prior to Covid, and haven't flown since March 2020.  I'm def going back to complete my training for my license, but in the meantime, the sim keeps me....sort of...flying.  haha
  • Options
    Jason PJason P Posts: 19,123
    mca47 said:
    Jason P said: