Options

hey... you anti-huge corporation people who are freaking out

Comments

• Options
    mfc2006mfc2006 HTOWN Posts: 37,390
    well put, d2d. i personally have no issue with what they're doing & don't understand why everyone is freaking out. as a musician myself, when my old band recorded/produced/distributed our 6 song EP, it was a bitch to do it ourselves. and we're not even close to PJ. PJ=big leagues, US=Tee Ball.

it was hard work and we only had 3500 copies to distribute. self-promotion/distribution is tough. i'd rather them work with a company like target that does give back a bit. just my $0.02!
    I LOVE MUSIC.
    www.cluthelee.com
    www.cluthe.com
  • Options
    slightofjeffslightofjeff Posts: 7,762
    I think that this Target deal is a pathetic attempt to sell more records. Radiohead they are not.

But hey, it's smart business to do this. Avocado, Riot Act, Binaural, Yield, and No Code COMBINED have sold less than VS. I want to believe that this Target deal is an attempt to get the music to the masses.....but I think it's a ploy to make more money.

Or maybe it's just because they "love and adore" Target as Kelly Curtis has put it.

How is it pathetic?

Because it comes off (to me) as a "desperate times call for desperate measures" technique.

Why do you think the times are desperate? Pearl Jam still seems pretty viable to me. Anytime you can sell out MSG two straight nights, you're probably doing OK for yourself.

I don't think you really have a clear picture regarding the ins and outs of this thing.
    everybody wants the most they can possibly get
    for the least they could possibly do
  • Options
    Ledbetterman10Ledbetterman10 Posts: 16,756

How is it pathetic?

Because it comes off (to me) as a "desperate times call for desperate measures" technique. [/quote]