Options

Pearl Jam albums in Dolby Atmos surround

Comments

• Options
    bazzer said:
    dobyblue said:
    With headphones the sound comes from a single driver for each ear, so the sound ALWAYS comes from the same spots. I am not good with ambiguous descriptions and don't have a clear understanding of what your second paragraph is trying to convey. But if you captured a sound moving in 360 degrees in a circle on your left side from 2' away (closest point) to 10' away (furthest point) you would have no idea on playback whether the sound was moving away from you or not, nor whether it was moving in a circular pattern. If you were told it was moving in a circular pattern you would have no idea whether it was counter-clockwise or clockwise unless you were told. If you were told it was moving in a circular pattern clockwise, your brain would perceive that. If I was told it was moving in a counter-clockwise pattern my brain would perceive that. The only thing we are both guaranteed to get right if we listen without any information or visual cues ahead of time is that the sound is on the left side.

With surround sound you do not need to be told and you do not need visual cues, you can place what the sound is doing because it's coming from a point in the room that your multi-speaker system is able to reproduce using multiple drivers around the room.