Options

Black Lives Matter

Comments

• Options
    oftenreadingoftenreading Victoria, BC Posts: 12,828
    JW269453 said:
    JW269453 said:
    "Delusional" - now the standard AMT insult used by people who have no idea what it means. It's certainly been trending over the past month or two. 

Please enlighten me, or were you referring to yourself? I have updated the example for you to better understand.
    Delusional - having false or unrealistic beliefs or opinions.
    People who think “responsible” gun owners are made up of one race are delusional.

No, I'm aware of the term delusional. I'm a mental health professional who regularly works with individuals with delusions and other symptoms of severe and persistent mental illness, and it's really bloody frustrating when people minimize the challenges of actual mental illness by misusing these terms in a spat with someone on the internet. 
    Thank you for what you do, I was in no way using the word to minimize mental illness. I did not make up the rules on what is an acceptable use of the word in our language, you can take that up with Merriam-Webster.

I didn't post because I wanted thanks, I posted because I want people to be a bit more mindful and thoughtful about how we speak about issues related to mental illness. Just because a term can be used by someone else in a way that minimizes its importance doesn't mean that it's right to do so.

And yes, I will take it up with dictionary.com as well.
    I've never heard of the word "delusional" being a derogatory term or heard it used for mental illness.

Interesting.  

If someone is delusional, it means that they have delusions, which are a serious symptom of psychosis. It’s not just someone with whom you disagree. 

It isn’t a derogatory term, it’s a descriptive and factual term than is made derogatory when used in that manner. 
    my small self... like a book amongst the many on a shelf
  • Options
    Ledbetterman10Ledbetterman10 Posts: 16,731