PJ_SoulPJ_Soul Vancouver, BC Posts: 49,683
    Canada
    mrussel1 said:
    PJ_Soul said:
    mcgruff10 said:
    mrussel1 said:
    mrussel1 said:
    Yeah right
    You ask why a small business can't afford vacation.  How can he answer that without knowing the p&l?  
    And how do you know there weren't Swedish businesses that went down or didn't start because of that law,  in part? Your unemployment rate is double the US. Maybe it would be lower if the business environment didn't have onerous requirements? What good is 2 weeks if you're unemployed?
    LOL.  You are getting your vacation at that point.  The States can still legislate 2 weeks, does not have to be paid.
    What's the point of that?  There would be a ton of lost wages that possibly couldn't be made up. 
    Yeah, that's no good and completely defies the point.
    I don't know if that's true or not.  I worked in the restaurant industry early in my life and there's some value with being able to take off, even unpaid,  without fear if never being on the schedule again. 
    I consider employers who refuse to grant unpaid leave another issue altogether.
    With all its sham, drudgery, and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world. Be careful. Strive to be happy. ~ Desiderata
  • Options
    mrussel1mrussel1 Posts: 28,722
    U.S.A.
    PJ_Soul said:
    mrussel1 said:
    PJ_Soul said:
    mcgruff10 said:
    mrussel1 said:
    mrussel1 said:
    Yeah right
    You ask why a small business can't afford vacation.  How can he answer that without knowing the p&l?  
    And how do you know there weren't Swedish businesses that went down or didn't start because of that law,  in part? Your unemployment rate is double the US. Maybe it would be lower if the business environment didn't have onerous requirements? What good is 2 weeks if you're unemployed?
    LOL.  You are getting your vacation at that point.  The States can still legislate 2 weeks, does not have to be paid.