The Wire

I've started watching this show on Amazon Prime, and I'm just beginning season 3. I can't believe I missed this when it was running on HBO a decade ago. Completely amazing in every regard . . . The writing, the acting, the directing are all stellar.

I've been thinking a lot about the recent Oscars controversy while watching, and I finally get it. Doing some background research, I learned that this show never won a single Emmy, and if I remember correctly, there were only two nominations over five seasons.

Fast forward a few years after The Wire is canceled, and two other cable series about (completely unbelievable) suburban white drug dealers sweep the awards year after year. There is no way either Weeds or Breaking Bad came close to this caliber of work, and yes, those shows were great, but this show is for real on a whole other level. I can only think it was ignored at the awards because the cast is primarily black, and it's a story about black crime in Baltimore. Ten years ago, nobody gave a shit about black people in Baltimore. I wonder if the show came out now, what would people do? I don't even think it could be made now.

It really bothers me that the talent on this program was not recognized in its day. And I'm now way more sympathetic to Halle Berry and the boycotting of the Oscars. I see the problem as plain as day here. I honestly didn't even know any of these actors existed until I started watching the Wire, and now I just want to watch everything they're in. There definitely needs to be more opportunities for these outstanding actors.

I'm curious to hear from people who are/were fans of the show. What do you think of it now in light of current events?

.... And I didn't revive any of the older threads because of the spoilers in there ... No spoilers!!

Comments

• hedonisthedonist standing on the edge of forever Posts: 24,524