Options

What book are you reading?

Comments

• Options
    F Me In The BrainF Me In The Brain this knows everybody from other commets Posts: 30,795
    hahaha, nice.
    The love he receives is the love that is saved
  • Options
    Who PrincessWho Princess out here in the fields Posts: 7,305
    When I read Moby Dick as an undergrad I thought it was pretty rough going. I later read it again in a graduate course, along with a lot of other Melville works. I enjoyed it that time.

But even for all us English majors out there, I'm not sure it's must-read. It was written for a different time and different readership. Parts of it are brilliant and parts of it are tedious. And it takes forever for that damn whale to show up.

If you feel like you have to read some Melville, I'd go with Billy Budd. I think it's his best novel. Many of his short stories are good, too.
    "The stars are all connected to the brain."
  • Options
    afroannnieafroannnie Posts: 12,995

^^^ I remember reading that loooong ago when I was 14 or 15 and thinking what a crazy, wild, great little book it was. Had no idea it would become somewhat of a reality all of these years later.

Yeah..it's crazy that it was written back in the late 70's. I know that Stephen King has asked this book to no longer be printed due to the content and that over the past 15 years there has been an increase in school shootings, but to me this book could be used as a vehicle to get kids & teenagers talking. Charlie's actions in the book are not justified, but in his mind they are because of the things that have happened to him...I'm sure there's so many other kids & teenagers that have felt/feel the same way...maybe the book could be used to get those kids that identify with Charlie's character counseling or help..just my 2 cents.

Anyway, I finished Rage last night and just started this: