Options

Learning Guitar

Comments

• Options
    elvistheking44elvistheking44 Posts: 4,245
    I've tried to learn guitar on my own about 10 different times and I never get anywhere. I took my first lesson last week and my second starts in about 2 hours. 30 minutes with someone who knew what they were talking about and could show me hands on was the smartest thing I've done. I still can't believe I can actually play (and play correctly) some guitar!

TAKE LESSONS!!!!
  • Options
    I have been playing guitar for about 7 years, and practice as much as I possibly can lol

I'm currently trying to learn the entire Backaspacer album using no help from any outside sources (friends, internet, etc.). It can be quite challenging only having your ears to guide you through the music, but at least a lot of songs on Backspacer aren't that hard to play.
  • Options
    redrockredrock Posts: 18,341
    Learn to read music. At least read the rhythm. Tabs are great for position, but don't note duration. Standard notation will tell you how long to playh a note for, to get phrasing right.

My daughter will be getting her first electric guitar (she hopes for her birthday!) and she has been looking at self-teach stuff. As a musician (she plays 3 other instruments, violin at a high level being one of them) she finds tabs 'too basic' for the reasons you mention but has problems finding 'proper' instruction (ie notation).

Any of you know of self-teach DVDs or such using notation?
  • Options
    I've tried to learn guitar on my own about 10 different times and I never get anywhere. I took my first lesson last week and my second starts in about 2 hours. 30 minutes with someone who knew what they were talking about and could show me hands on was the smartest thing I've done. I still can't believe I can actually play (and play correctly) some guitar!

TAKE LESSONS!!!!