Ohana Festival Update

Comments

• curmudgeonesscurmudgeoness Brigadoon, foodie capital Posts: 3,218
    I'm not a lawyer, but if you parse the language of the note, it sounds more like a CYA statement than anything. Nothing says that you will be required to provide proof of vaccination/ negative test -- you are being asked to abide by the honor system.

I'm also not a doctor. That said: Unless you are an immunocompromised person (think organ transplant recipient, or on chemo), if you are vaccinated against COVID then maskless/ unvaccinated people pose very little risk to you; the risk is all theirs.
    it specifically says the event organizer is "requiring"....  and this "requirement" will apply to all before allowed entry.  whatever that means. 

Yes, it is *requiring* attendees to agree to confirm that they will be vaccinated and/or have a negative test result and/or wear a mask. That's not the same as requiring people to present their vaccination cards at the entry. If you look at what the state is saying, they're trying to sidestep legal battles with anti-vaxxers while encouraging pro-social behavior. This notice does the same thing: it says, we'd *really* like you to show up vaccinated, and if you aren't, we expect you to wear a mask.

It's an honor system. There's an implicit acknowledgement that if you disregard expectations and get sick, that's on you -- you know, "you're an adult; act like one."  But there's not an explicit waiver of liability as I hear Japan is doing for the Olympics.

Edit to add: I don't see how they could check vaccination/ testing status at the gates. That would be a complete cluster. Perhaps uploading proof of vaccination prior to the mailing date for wristbands could be required, but arguing with thousands of people at the entry? That's not going to happen.
    what do you make of "this requirement will apply to all members of your party before they are allowed to enter the event"