2016 PJ25 Tour Rumors

Comments

• jerparker20jerparker20 St. Paul, MN Posts: 2,399
    JimmyV said:

Very interesting. Fenway and Wrigley are historic venues. Almost uniquely so. You could argue the same for Soldier Field all those years ago. But a brand new football stadium in Minnesota is a different animal. If this is true I think all kinds of shows in the future are a little more plausible. Safeco, Yankee Stadium, etc.

As a Twin Cities resident, I don't buy it. Couple of reasons:

1. PJ has not had a very strong presence in this area. Between 1998 and today they have played this market 4 times. 2 headlining slots and 2 supporting slots. 5 and 11 years in between headlining shows (98-2003 and 2003-2014) and 8 years between actual appearances (the Target Corporate thing doesn't count).

2. The Twin Cities are very close to Chicago. 6 hours by car, 1 hour by air. The Wrigley shows have already pulled, or will pull, a large amount of people from the region.

3. The new US Bank Stadium is huge. Something like 70-73,00 capacity for football games

4. The latest "rumor" is from a DJ out of Dubuque, Iowa. Local buzz regarding the "rock and roll" show at the stadium is Guns n Roses.

I would love for a home town show, but I don't see it happening.
  • thro84thro84 Posts: 10
    I'm also a Twin Cities resident. It seems that GnR is a pretty risky act to open the stadium with. Axl is notoriously late to shows and they are a band that hasn't toured with regularity for some time. It just seems that promoting GnR as the opening of US Bank Stadium would be a risky promotional endeavor.
    While the presence in the TC isn't great, they have still supported the shows they have played here. And if its not Pearl Jam and if GnR is too risky then who else fits the "rock and roll" title?
  • ZodZod Posts: 9,943
    thro84 said: