Options

Foreclosure or shortsale? update-My shady lawyer

JonnyPistachioJonnyPistachio Florida Posts: 10,217
edited January 2014 in All Encompassing Trip
I need some advice. I will be seeing a lawyer next week, but I want to talk to people who know more about this, or have been through it.

So I've been battling the idea for a few years. I bought my house in south Florida in 2006, at the very peak of the market. I had intentions of living there for 5 years and upgrading to a better neighborhood. The house is currently worth 1/3 of what I paid. My neighborhood was not good to begin with, and all the nearby foreclosures and shortsales are making it a neighborhood that will take longer to revitalize. Also, the neighborhood has gotten worse with crime and squatters.

I am one of those people who always fulfills my obligations. I have a contract and I owe a shitload of money for something i'll not see improvement back to its original value (not likely in 10-15 years rather).

But the icing on the cake was a few days ago I heard gunshots in the middle of the night. And I have recently been married and my wife has moved in with me. We dont feel safe, and I am considering foreclosing or trying to shortsale it. Anybody been through either of these? If I foreclose, i'm concerned that the banks will come after me in 10-15 years even, to get their money. :?
Pick up my debut novel here on amazon: Jonny Bails Floatin (in paperback) (also available on Kindle for $2.99)
Post edited by JonnyPistachio on

Comments

• Options
    8181 Needing a ride to Forest Hills and a ounce of weed. Please inquire within. Thanks. Or not. Posts: 58,276
    make sure you save up for potential tax liability. you could potentially owe taxes on the difference between what you get and what you owe.

foreclosure will fuck your credit for a while...not sure about the shortsale....
    81 is now off the air

Off_Air.jpg
  • Options
    81 wrote: