Options

Senator wants to be sworn in on the Quran. Unamarican?

Comments

• Options
    Purple HawkPurple Hawk Posts: 1,300
    I'm no lawyer, but it is pretty clear that from the minute of inception, that government was not to have a connection or be influenced by religion. Hence the saying 'separation of church and state.' Now, how well that is adhered to is another question.

I'm no lawyer either (thank God). But no, it is NOT clear from the minute of inception that there was ever a separatoin of church and state.

the first amendment bans Congress from establishing a first amendment.

that's good, in my opinion. that way, we don't have honor killings and the sort.

at the same time, the first amendment bans the federal government from prohibiting religious expression. the supreme court has rejected this idea, and they are wrong. and i'm not even religious for chrissakes, but i can recognize legislating from the bench when i see it.

to me, this is what this whole "war on christmas" thing is about. is there anything in the constitution about a school having a christmas tree? or a nativity scene? no. it says CONGRESS (not a school) cannot establish a national religion. I'm no lawmaker, but i'm pretty certain school board members aren't capable of establishing national law.
    And you ask me what I want this year
    And I try to make this kind and clear
    Just a chance that maybe we'll find better days
    Cuz I don't need boxes wrapped in strings
    And desire and love and empty things
  • Options
    Uncle Leo wrote:
    It could be interpreted either way.

But for the sake of argument, I will concede this to you. Separation of church and state is not in the constitution. A lot of people say that. What would you like this fact to lead to? Once the people finally come to realize that separtion of the two is not in the constituion, and that we therefore do not have to separate them, how can that be used?