I'm a METAL noob, help me out?!!!

Comments

• intodeepintodeep Posts: 7,228
    There is so much fucking different metal out there it is hard to know where to start.

Transplant made some good suggestions.

I'm afraid the vocals for Mastodon may throw you off at first but perhaps you would grow into them later.

-One band that has not been mentioned that you may enjoy a lot is DOWN
    Their first album is the best one to start with. Give these guys a try. It is Phil (from pantera) on vocals and he sings a little bit more then he did with Pantera and i beleive the guitarist from Cathedral{my bad i said i believe because i wan't sureit is Corrosion of Conformity but and their riffs were awesoem too :) } (which was always the best part of Cathedral in my opinion) who lays down some great "Groove Metal" riffs.

-I'll also throw out there if you like Queens of the Stone Age and have not checked out Josh's first band Kyuss they should be looked at as well. They fuckin groove like crazy. josh does not sing but he does some of his best guitar work with Kyuss. Espcially considering i think he was like 18 years old when the band started or some shit like that. Check out the album Welcome to Sky Valley.
    Like Down it is not extreme metal and should be friendly to your ears.

-Another one that has been suggested but i'll say again because i think you would dig it is High on Fire. A little motorhead style vocals with riffs to die for. Blessed Black Wings is probalby their best album.

-also if you want a throw back new band check out the Sword they have two albums and the both rock like Unholy Sabbath! Easy vocals. they sound a lot like sabbath with a new kick to them. Not sure which album of theirs i like the best though

Other stuff i love but i'm not sure you would dig that has been mentione is:
    Mastodon- Leviathan or Blood Mountain both great
    Opeth- Blackwater Park, Still Life, Watershed, Damnation (all clean vocals)
    Amon Amarth- Fate of Norns