I'm a METAL noob, help me out?!!!

harmless_little_f***harmless_little_f*** Posts: 8,005
edited July 2008 in Other Music
I went to a rock night at my local club where they played metal all night. It was fucking incredible, I got totally bladdered, but I hardly recognised any of what I was hearing.

The closest I've got to metal are Deftones, System of a Down and old-skool Korn. Some grunge tips its hat to metal, I s'pose (AIC particularly).

I like rhythm, technicality and changes in tempo (hence my liking of System of a Down). I love ATMOSPHERE (hence my liking for Deftones). The stuff I loved in this rock night quite often switched from fast and chuggy with growling vocals, to sloooow and chuggy and full of SLUDGY atmosphere.

Where should I start? I have no real Metal in my collection at all.
'We're learning songs for baby Jesus' birthday. His mum and dad were Merry and Joseph. He had a bed made of clay and the three kings bought him Gold, Frankenstein and Merv as presents.'

- the great Sir Leo Harrison
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Apart from the occasional SOAD song, and the obvious early Metallica stuff, the only metal I was ever really into was Fear Factory's stuff... Demanufacture/Obsolete era.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PBaNf6Jk5rM
    Smokey Robinson constantly looks like he's trying to act natural after being accused of farting.
  • Apart from the occasional SOAD song, and the obvious early Metallica stuff, the only metal I was ever really into was Fear Factory's stuff... Demanufacture/Obsolete era.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PBaNf6Jk5rM

I forgot to mention.. I find it impossible to take most Metallica seriously. I understand how monumental it was, but I guess you had to be there. It's cheesy, reminds me of boys' cartoons and I'd file it under 'Old skool' along with Megadeth.