I'm a METAL noob, help me out?!!!

Comments

• But what kind of 'real metal' do you want to get into? What is 'real metal' to you Mark? As a few of us have pointed out, there's A LOT of different types.

I put it in inverted commas cus I don't go for the term 'real metal'. But I've heard naysayers of Nu-Metal tell me that it isn't 'real metal', so hey ho. ;) I realise there are 100s of genres and I'm looking forward to finding what I like.
    Out of interest, what Pantera, Fear Factory and Soulfly have you heard?

Only the links posted here, but I sort of like what's been posted.
    I didn't grow up with Metallica, infact I was only just born when Kill 'em All was released. Someone suggested listening to Master of Puppets, I think that's as good a place as any to start giving Metallica a chance, it is one of the greatest metal releases ever. Also, I never said they were ground breaking.

Nope, fair enough, but a lot of people do, including some of my friends. I only know what I've been told I 'should' feel about Metallica. Maybe that's what's put me off. I'll listen to Master of Puppets. :)
    You don't think you'll like thrash? How about giving it a go first.

I know what thrash sounds like, even if I can't pin any bands to it, and I don't expect to have my expectations blown out of the water. Feel free to prove me wrong. :)
    I have heard Oceansize - i'm not overly struck.

Different strokes I guess. Who knows, maybe after all this I'll find out that I like music containing elements of metal, but not full-on metal itself.

Just a question: Are there any metal bands you'd suggest for good lyrical content? Some of what I'm hearing, although technically brilliant musically, has very surface-level lyrics. It's not 'thinking man's music' like Pearl Jam. Even SOAD is very clever and full of satire.