Big Ten Basketball Thread (Includes Weekly Power Rankings!)

PHATJPHATJ Posts: 348
edited March 2013 in All Encompassing Trip
As a big college basketball fan, I wanted to start a discussion about the strongest basketball conference in all of the land. The Big10 (or "B1G" as it likes to be called). My hope is that we can each take the angle of writing from one of the schools perspectives. Maybe you could give a little history of your choice school's successes (or lack thereof) and then talk about where they are now. Hopefully this will lead to some fun game threads and discussions through what promises to be a hell of a Big10 season.

I'll get us started...

I am a resident of Minnesota and have had the often misfortune of being a fan of the Minnesota Golden Gophers. When I was young there were some fun teams for me to cheer for. In 1982 (when I was two years old) the Gophers won the Big10 but lost in the second round of the NCAAs. There was a Sweet 16 appearance in 1989, followed by an Elite 8 showing in 1990. In 1997 there was a magical 31-4 season that won the Big10 and finished in a Final Four appearance (this season was ultimately stricken from the record books because of an academic fraud scandal). Since 1997, MN has had only one season with a winning conference record (they were only 9-7 in that season) and have only managed to make the NCAA Tournament four times, each appearance resulting in a first round exit. So to say the least, it's been quite a while since a I have had much to cheer about.

For the first time in a long time, 2013 looks like it could actually be a fun year to be a Gophers fan.