Generation Y women losing 'female' skills

Thoughts_ArriveThoughts_Arrive Posts: 15,165
edited February 2011 in All Encompassing Trip
http://www.news.com.au/national/generat ... 5996810578

So who here is guilty of this crime?
Adelaide 17/11/2009, Melbourne 20/11/2009, Sydney 22/11/2009, Melbourne (Big Day Out Festival) 24/01/2014
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• eMMIeMMI Posts: 6,262
    Ironing, cooking and sewing? I can do all those, but I hate ironing.
    Only 51 per cent of women aged under 30 can cook a roast compared with 82 per cent of baby boomers.

I can't cook a roast though.. Guess I'm not a proper woman. :?
    "Don't be faint-hearted, I have a solution! We shall go and commandeer some small craft, then drift at leisure until we happen upon another ideal place for our waterside supper with riparian entertainments."
  • I can't sew or iron.
    I am a good cook though :D
    Adelaide 17/11/2009, Melbourne 20/11/2009, Sydney 22/11/2009, Melbourne (Big Day Out Festival) 24/01/2014
  • ClaireackClaireack Posts: 13,561
    Think most people can probably do them. Whether you want to or not is a different matter!
  • chadwickchadwick Posts: 21,157
    i will say women have changed (for better or worse) over the years. when i was a kid most women sewed their kids' torn clothing or fashioned quilts for their family and friends or those in need, and they cooked their asses off. do women still bake homemade bread?

i know women today who have no clue how to sew their kids' torn jeans. i know women who cannot cook a fucking thing. i know women who do not appreaciate quilts sew by grandmothers and they disregard the hand made blankets.

don't get me wrong, men are dicks too.
    why don't men fucking fashion a quilt out of scrap fabric?
    why don't men stitch up a pair of torn jeans?
    because men are watching soccer, drinking vodka, and farting to entertain the children & themselves.

i am no good @ sewing buttons on my shirts.