The change in Eddie's voice

Comments

• don't read/post often, but felt compelled to comment.

i join those who prefer the current "voice" (sound, melodic choices, etc..)...i rarely listen to earlier bootlegs, or even earlier studio albums.

my reason for posting, however, is to mention ev's use of an inner ear monitor. not sure exactly when he began using it, but i have to think that using it changed how he approaches live shows. (i'm not a musician, have no basis for the thought)
  • UpSideDownUpSideDown Posts: 1,966
    my thoughts....

2000 he had great power and his range was better

2003 just pure stamina night in and night out, amazing tour

2006 less power overall, but a more refined singing style. Showed great energy as well.
    Really kicked it into high gear for the European shows.

2008 - noticed the choppy singing on certain songs (can't remember whats it actually called right now, but you know what im talking about). Seemed out of breathe on some songs, but was still holding it together. LROM and the real me on vh1 were amazing though.

2009- Aside from the occasional gem, it sounds like hes one note away from cracking at any point, out of breathe quite a bit. The shows are still enjoyable, but Im concerned and would like to see them take some time to recover (if its possible at this point)
  • bootlegger10bootlegger10 Posts: 15,845
    I used to be one of those guys who wished Ed's voice was like it was in the old days, but I've changed my tune. I agree his voice has deteriorated since 1996, but he is a much, much better singer now. Perhaps a combination of his range in 1991 and his singing ability now would be the best, but I take Eddie now.