Important Information Regarding Your Ten Club Membership

Comments

• ZodZod Posts: 9,942
    JimmyV said:
    I imagine the lion's share of membership dues goes to 10c operating costs. Unlikely the band is seeing many of those dollars. Their money is coming from the merch. 
    As I work in finance I wonder about this too.  Because the lines are blurred between 10c and the band.  Most of the band fan clubs are separate from the day to day operations, but 10c seems to pretty much handle everything PJ related, so it's more than a fan club.   If our dues pay to operate the 10c are we self sourcing the bands entire operation?  Most bands would fund that through merch they sell online and other revenues.

Maybe dues only cover part of the operation and some does get allocation from online merch sales to it... but I have always wondered, because 10c handles more than just the 10c side of Pearl Jam.
  • allstar340allstar340 NYC Posts: 798
    JimmyV said:
    I imagine the lion's share of membership dues goes to 10c operating costs. Unlikely the band is seeing many of those dollars. Their money is coming from the merch. 
    There is a flip side to that though. Even without the membership fees, having a list of your most hardcore fans, along with their addresses, their ticket and merch buying habits, and how far they will travel to see a show is incredibly valuable. There is a reason that just about every grocery store has a frequent shopper card that gives you discounts for free. So not only is the band getting, a now increased, membership fee from members, but they also get a bunch of valuable data.