What is the deal with Radiohead?

Comments

• Get_RightGet_Right Posts: 12,858
    I like some of their stuff
    I am told you need to see them live to truly appreciate them.

I will let you know after Aug 9.
  • Cropduster84Cropduster84 Posts: 1,283
    pdalowsky wrote:
    Went from being a worlds leading band to knocking wank records out with all kinds of electronica and no melody or what I would call song structure, and just basically wailing.

Have you listened to the records you're slating?

No melody?!?!

Try these tracks - There There, Reckoner, All I Need, Sail To The Moon, Motion Picture Soundtrack, Idioteque, I Might Be Wrong, House Of Cards....I could go on, but my point is, Radiohead do amazingly rich melodies in their work....
    'The more I studied religions the more I am convinced that man never worshipped anything but himself.' - Sir Richard Francis Burton
  • IgottagoIgottago Posts: 483
    pdalowsky wrote:
    Radiohead were a great band, they lost the plot when they tried to fix something that wasnt broken, and went all experimental on us. In my view (which many strangely diaagree with) they made a total bollocks of it all. Went from being a worlds leading band to knocking wank records out with all kinds of electronica and no melody or what I would call song structure, and just basically wailing.

In the live arena this is all different though, they are pretty damn good there. Although they are well off their peak even with that compared to 1995-1997, anyone who saw them then and now must surely agree??

This is the worst assessment of their music I've ever heard. Their so called "experimental" stuff has amazing melody, structure, and hooks. Thats what makes it so great...yes it is somewhat challenging at first but underneath they are still songs that get stuck in your head.

If they continued to make the bends over and over again as you suggest, no one would be talking about them to this day.
  • No Radiohead thread is complete without this: