Rolling Stone mag reviews R.E.M.'s Accelerate

2»

Comments

• Cropduster84Cropduster84 Posts: 1,283
    I've yet to hear the album.....

too much of a traditionalist, gonna wait unti it's released lol :D

But man, you guys are getting me excited :D
    'The more I studied religions the more I am convinced that man never worshipped anything but himself.' - Sir Richard Francis Burton
  • brain of cbrain of c Posts: 5,213
    finally a record to pick up.
  • muppetmuppet Posts: 980
    Lol.
    Well i almost agree about NAIHF, it is definately one of their strongest albums. Honest truth it actually loses a few notches in my book for just being TOO accessible. That album had, what, 6 or 7 singles on it? Yikes! You go back and listen to it, and I end up skipping half of the album because i've heard those songs overplayed so many dang times. Its as bad as Ten. lol.

About "Until The Day Is Done" i just can't agree. I actually thought it was one of the strongest songs on the album.

My biggest criticism of it is, like Monster and NAIHF, it is just a bit too "flashy" for me. It almost lends it a "cheap" feeling, a disposable music type quality. I can't really describe it, but it is in the quality of some of those riffs, and it lessens the experience for me just a slight bit.

I would almost argue that Up is in fact the stronger effort, but i do like that some of the songs on Accelerate are clearly more IRS-era REM in their appregiated, un-fuzzed-guitar-tone song structure.

I think where the common ground among everyone in this thread is, is that this album is -- hands down -- MUCH better than the last two efforts, and THAT is something we can all smile about.

:D

Like i said in the other thread, for a band in to the end of its 3rd decade, with members in their 50s, you can't freaking complain.