Canadian Music - Past and Present

Comments

• Todd76Todd76 Posts: 1,469
    I actually saw Hayden (LOVE him - and he's still putting out GREAT albums)and Broken Social Scene pop up on the Best Live Band thread (from two people not from Canada).....that gets me so excited,

I feel like all I do on this board is hype/praise the Canadian music scene....its just sooooo damn good here right now - makes me want to shout it from the rooftops

....as Combat Baby - Metric comes on the radio - its a great time to be a music fan in Canada
    In my world everyone is a pony,
    and they all eat rainbows and pooh butterflies!
  • Cropduster84Cropduster84 Posts: 1,283
    Is K-OS not Canadian?

Great music.
    'The more I studied religions the more I am convinced that man never worshipped anything but himself.' - Sir Richard Francis Burton
    Is K-OS not Canadian?

Great music.

Yes he is.....not a big fan - just havent heard much (I have liked what I have heard) I just heard his brand new single yesterday....not too bad
  • direwolf74direwolf74 Posts: 1,622
    Todd76 wrote:
    Yes he is.....not a big fan - just havent heard much (I have liked what I have heard) I just heard his brand new single yesterday....not too bad

His album "Joyful Rebellion" is absolutely brilliant. It's intelligent rap for intelligent music fans. I don't usually listen to a lot of rap music, but K-OS brings so much more to the table than other artists in the genre. He's a gifted rapper and singer, but he's also a great lyricist, songwriter and musician. I saw him live in Ottawa a couple of years back, and the dude also plays a mean guitar and piano.
    "I try my best to chug, stomp, weep, whisper, moan, wheeze, scat, blurt, rage, whine, and seduce. With my voice I can sound like a girl, the boogieman, a Theremin, a cherry bomb, a clown, a doctor, a murderer. I can be tribal. Ironic. Or disturbed. My voice is really my instrument."

-Tom Waits
  • Cropduster84Cropduster84 Posts: 1,283