Acoustic Guitar

Boom The CatBoom The Cat Posts: 482
edited January 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
All thanks to Daughter, I want to take up acoustic guitar, I have no knowledge of guitars no guitar and I'm starting lessons soon, any tips for a dummy?
no matter where you go,
there you are.

- brain of c
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• moster78moster78 Posts: 1,591
    My best friend was given a Fender acoustic as a birthday gift from his girlfriend which he has barely touched, as much as I give him crap about it. I don't know the model number or anything, but its a nice acoustic. Can't be more than $300. I learned on a Dean Performer series acoustic, which went for about $300 as well. Decent guitar and got me started. Definitely take lessons, they're invaluable! Good luck and keep us updated!
  • Ok, I will, I can't wait for the part where I have to find tabs
    no matter where you go,
    there you are.

- brain of c
  • daughter isn't played on an acoustic. it's got some funky pickups that make it sound that way.
  • exhaustedexhausted Posts: 6,638
    live it's played on an electric with a special pickup but the original studio version is an acoustic.
    Regardless, its given him the desire to pick up a guitar and learn to play. That's what is important. Watching Touring Band 2000 and listening to the 2000 bootlegs is what spurred me to buy my acoustic four and a half years ago. Only took me until this June to actually start taking lessons and they've been immensely helpful. Acoustic is definitely the way to start as I find its a little harder to play sometimes.
  • exhaustedexhausted Posts: 6,638
    generally speaking, it is a little harder and, being that you can't hide behind noise, is a better way to learn.

but yeah, whatever helps maintain the interest and drive to learn, be it acoustic or electric or whatever. that's the important part.
  • exhausted wrote: