Options

Biden vs Trump 2020 - vote now and discuss!

Comments

• Options
    brianluxbrianlux Moving through All Kinds of Terrain. Posts: 40,760
    Biden
    brianlux said:
    brianlux said:
    I find it interesting that some view having a 401K as being a sign of someone being wealthy or upper middle class.  My wife and I work in the used book business.   We make about what the average income is for a couple in the U.S. in a state with a higher than average cost of living.  And that is late in our working years, as high as we'll ever go in our kind of small business in podunk Placerville, California.  We have a 401K.  Does that make us upper middle class? 
    :lol: 
    not necessarily, but if the stat that someone posted is true, that only 32% of americans have one, that would suggest it is mostly those with more disposable income than those without. 

True, but you have to remember that many people who complain the loudest about not having enough money think nothing of buying a  $4 or $5 latte mocha fudge hoo haa beverage at Starbucks every morning on their way to work.  The majority of Americans are clueless about personal finance, budgeting and making their money stretch.  The smart thing to do would be to teach high school kids personal finance.  That's one of the thousand things my wife wants to do in her "retirement".