Help me and Follow me on my quest to learn Guitar through PJ

mjd327mjd327 Posts: 160
edited December 2013 in Musicians and Gearheads
So yeah..anyways I'm a college student and I want to learn the guitar. That's about it really. I have mild experience but not really. I've tried on and off for years. I know all the chords and stuff, and have had lessons here and there so I'm not a total novice, but that's about it. I can't play any actual songs.

I would like to learn, and I started a topic, where people gave me some resources for tabs and stuff like that. And I decided that the best way to do this would be to post my progress as I go so people can tell me why I suck and help follow me as I hopefully get better and learn to play things?

I'm open to doing this however, and taking whatever advice I get - what songs to play, technique, lessons to look at...I dunno I'd like you to guys to help me out and follow me in my "journey."

I don't have a guitar teacher and will teach myself but figured this whole forum could be my guitar teachers. YEAH!

So I started by trying to learn two songs...Lukin, and Satan's Bed. They seemed really simple. (Also I might not learn every song at once, might learn bits and pieces.) I made two videos which...well they're not exact. Pretty much just the pieces. Remember: I really suck at the guitar. I don't know exactly what I'm doing wrong, so you guys can tell me. I know this is terrible but I'm putting myself out there anyways, so yeah.

Satan's Bed (Just shortened verse and two choruses. I can't tell why my chords sound so bad, and I dunno if I'm strumming wrong but it sounds like I'm breaking the strings or something.):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_yAlaDArrRM