College Majors That Are Useless

2»

Comments

• A lot of people would probably say my major is useless...I was a Recreation, Parks & Tourism major, but emphasised in event planning and facilities management. And that's exactly the career that I have. I did have all the jocks (mostly football players) in most of my classes, several of whom have gone on to the NFL. I'll admit, when I went into it (prior to that, I was a business major, then psych) I was really just looking for an easy, slack major, but I've actually applied it to my career.

Why would anyone say that is useless? There's boatloads of money in tourism.

I majored in actuarial science, which was also useful.
    Well, it was just pathetically easy, so I guess I jumped the gun a little bit. I mean, come on, ;)recreation??
    We were but stones your light made us stars
  • photogirllizphotogirlliz Posts: 2,491
    Any shmo can graduate high school. College takes some effort. It shows commitment.
    I think this could be easily argued... :)
    "I am myself...like you, somehow."
  • JeanwahJeanwah Posts: 6,363
    DeLukin wrote:
    Marketing.

Marketing will never die. Selling is what this country is about, sadly.
  • DS1119DS1119 Posts: 33,497
    College takes some effort. It shows commitment.

Are you 100% positive about that?
  • EnkiduEnkidu Posts: 2,996
    I was a theatre major. Yeah, opened a lot of doors - ha ha. However, I was a girl from a very small town and going away to college and getting a liberal arts education at a big university was great for me. I fell in love with history, took an opera class and learned to like opera (really), got exposed to all different kinds of people so it was a good thing.

(I have a graduate degree in film - that's a different story, I wouldn't recommend that.)
  • iamicaiamica Posts: 2,628