I'm hosting Thanksgiving dinner

GivenToLukinKPGivenToLukinKP Posts: 3,076
edited November 2013 in All Encompassing Trip
...and I am SO excited!

I have always wanted to host, and finally this year I have my shot! :D I LOVE to cook for people, but I have never roasted a turkey before...I am actually kind of considering getting a small one to practice next week or so :lol: I think I am a pretty good cook, so it should be no problem...

Every year, thanksgiving is had at my fathers house and cooked (mostly) by my stepmother...words can not express my excitement that I not only get to do the cooking in MY house, BUT I get to skip the dry turkey, the pre-packaged side dishes, and the attitude that 99% of thanksgiving dinner needs to be starches.

This is what I DO know:
1- The turkey will be brined
2- I will not be making stove-fucking-top stuffing
3- I will have vegetables other than green bean casserole
4- I am going to attempt a traditional Scottish dish (undecided--either a dessert or a side...no haggis)
5- its going to be ridiculously awesome

Any tips from the peanut gallery here on turkey brining/roasting? Anyone have a great recipe for an easy side dish? Healthy stuff gets extra points, as does anything that can be started or prepared completely the day before (I am a one-woman-show in a relatively small kitchen)

I need to start working on my menu! :D
Makes much more sense...

2011: East Troy, WI 1 & 2; Toronto ON 1 & 2; Hamilton ON
2012: Berlin, Germany 1& 2; Stockholm Sweden; Oslo Norway; Copenhagen Denmark
2013: Wrigley Field- Chicago, IL; Philadelphia, PA 1 & 2; Hartford, CT; Vancouver BC; Seattle, WA.
2014: Cincinnati, OH; St. Louis, MO; Moline, IL; Milwaukee, WI
2016: Wrigley Field- Chicago 1&2
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• chadwickchadwick Posts: 21,157
    edited October 2011
    you need honey and brown sugar and soy sauce water. turkey will make its own juices too. breast up or down when first putting in oven? 300f degree?

i like ham.