Songs for beginners

Comments

• LukinFanLukinFan Posts: 29,040
    LukinFan wrote:
    I need some suggestions. I'm pretty new to guitar. So far the only chords I know are D, Dm, A, Am, E, and Em. I can play "Three Little Birds" and I'm getting better on "Peggy Sue". Any song suggestions using those chords?

I'm into PJ, of course, Ben Harper, JJ Grey and Mofro, MMJ, Black Keys, Band of Horses - bands like that. Thanks!
    to add to this, I now know G and C. Any other suggestions? I'm currently learning "I Won't Back Down" - pretty sweet
    www.RLMcDaniel.com

1996: Ft Lauderdale
    1998: Birmingham
    2000: Charlotte, Tampa
    2003: Tampa, Atlanta, Phoenix
    2004: Kissimmee
    2008: West Palm Beach, Bonnaroo, Columbia
    2010: MSG2
    2012: Music Midtown
    2014: Memphis
    2016: Ft. Lauderdale, Miami, Jacksonville, JazzFest
    2018: Wrigley 1, Fenway 1
    2022: Nashville
    2023: Ft. Worth II
  • he.who.forgetshe.who.forgets Posts: 4,593
    LukinFan wrote:
    LukinFan wrote:
    I need some suggestions. I'm pretty new to guitar. So far the only chords I know are D, Dm, A, Am, E, and Em. I can play "Three Little Birds" and I'm getting better on "Peggy Sue". Any song suggestions using those chords?

I'm into PJ, of course, Ben Harper, JJ Grey and Mofro, MMJ, Black Keys, Band of Horses - bands like that. Thanks!
    to add to this, I now know G and C. Any other suggestions? I'm currently learning "I Won't Back Down" - pretty sweet
    Lukinfan, try playing Disarm by the Smashing Pumpkins. The beginning riff is Am, C, G, D# (a D but holding the top E string first fret with your thumb). It's a fast strumming pattern though so it may take a bit of practice to get used to. Fun to play though.
    We were but stones your light made us stars
  • LukinFan wrote:
    LukinFan wrote:

Lukin,

If you know G D A
    or G D C