So, uh, anybody ever been on probation?

2»

Comments

• pandorapandora Posts: 21,855
    pandora wrote:
    Thanks for sharing, all.

Yes, my probation is going to be as the result of a DWI, though the official charge is going to get reduced to obstruction of a highway (sort of a standard thing they do in this county for first-time offenders whose cases just aren't ridiculously stupid).

To those who might know: How do they go about randomly testing you? Do they show up at your house? Or do they do it at the various meetings you are required to attend?

As you can tell, I know nothing about any of this. I am a complete amateur when it comes to breaking the law.
    Once a month, it is when you go see your probation officer and you pay for the test

obstruction of a highway :? :lol:

sounds very lenient not so in the South

I actually am in the South. And I thought it sounded lenient, too ... until I looked into it.

My county has a big hard-on now about drunk driving, and for good reason I suppose. In the past several months several police officers have been killed or injured by drunk drivers ... it's become a big political issue, and of course, the district attorney is an elected position.

They established this "obstruction of a highway" business in order to reduce the backlog of cases to prosecute. But they still want to be seen as "tough on DWIs". So ... this obstruction deal, which you have 60 days from the date of arrest to accept, is the only deal you are going to get.

If you refuse, your only other alternative is to hire a lawyer for $10K, take it to trial, and try to beat the charge. During the trial, the DA won't offer any other deal -- be it OAH, or reckless driving, or public intoxication or anything else. You will either be found not guilty, or you will be convicted of a DWI.