Driftin': Need Advice For Maiden Voyage

unlost dogsunlost dogs Posts: 12,553
edited May 2011 in All Encompassing Trip
So tomorrow I'm taking camp Unlost Dogs for its maiden voyage from Boston to New Hampshire. Trailerless, I make this trip in an hour. With trailer, I'm figuring maybe 2. As I will be going very, very carefully.

The trailer is in the driveway. It's 23 feet long. I have no trailering experience. Well, except driving it home from the dealership, and then the other night, driving it around the public landing and backing up (and managing not to end up in the water).

I haven't done anything to it since bringing it home from the dealership, except that I made the bed, I put some cookware and paper plates in the cabinets, and some spatulas and cooking implements in the drawers. (Prompting Mr. Unlost to remark, "We have all those things in our kitchen, and you never use them. What makes you think you'll use them in the trailer?" Funny guy, Mr. Unlost.)

Anyway, so I'm off to the RMV first thing in the morning to pay the sales tax and get the plates. Then I'll be on the road by 1 or 2.

Here's the advice I'm seeking: I pulled out the giant packet of stuff that the dealer gave me. I mean pages and pages of instruction manuals about everything from the fire extinguisher to the toilet to the propane tanks and the electrical system. It's all really dense and boring.

Do I really need to read all of it, or do you think I can just wing it?

And please, no subsequent threads with a PJ pool betting on the date that the trailer will a) become unhitched and go rolling down the highway, b) experience a severe plumbing backup, c) blow up or, d) all of the above)

I was going to read the manuals today, but then I got onto the RMV website and started looking for vanity plates and realized that UNLOST is available which would be pretty cool. And then I started posting, and, well, we all know how that goes...