Deciding to get a tattoo

2»

Comments

• EmBleveEmBleve Posts: 3,019
    Awesome idea you had about the pets. :) Yes, I totally agree on working in a place that celebrates diversity, and certainly it is your right to express yourself!! (why I have them, too, :) ) Sometimes, in the nursing world it is just not acceptable, though. ;( If I had my choice it would be different, but, sadly, it's not. Like, I also went through a phase where I wanted those dirty dreads that you eventually have to shave off and the 'powers that be' said oh hell no.. But pretty much the only thing that was ever said about them was by that doctor who told me I wouldn't get into medical school with them. I was like, what?? And props to you, girl!! Wear your skirt!!! :clap: I do sometimes, but again, I really do have to consider the context just to spare myself. :)

Should have added... I've been a nurse for 16 years. All in Harvard teaching hospitals and you don't get stuffier than that! Always thought it was pretty funny that the only disparaging comment I ever heard came from another nurse.

Also, having been on panels that interviewed medical students who were applying to a residency program, then voted on who got in and who didn't _ nobody cared about their tats.

The pendulum swings... ;)[/quote]

Well, that is awesome indeed! Although I'm just a lowly staff RN. :) And the doctor who said that said it to me in '95 so obviously things have changed. Plus, if they're residents, they already been through the school part. :D

oh...to add, then you totally relate to the fingernail/hair issue--also had to take out my eyebrow ring to work.
    [Should have added... I've been a nurse for 16 years. All in Harvard teaching hospitals and you don't get stuffier than that! Always thought it was pretty funny that the only disparaging comment I ever heard came from another nurse.