Options

whats with all this "matt speeds up songs" crap?

2»

Comments

• Options
    redeyeredeye Posts: 620
    well some songs sound better faster, but i miss the groove that solat had in the past
    like wise with other songs, even flow to
  • Options
    tremorstremors Posts: 8,051
    IMHO this past 12 months of shows and boots has really got the fullest most rounded, most earth-shaking sound that PJ has ever had or even come close to, either live or in studio. It may be to do with changes in playing (I'm not an expert on this) or to do with Matt's kit being miked up properly (in stereo with a bloody good bass sound?).

Anwyays, to my ears Matt is currently PJ's missing link put right back in at the right time and the right place (now achieving what he's done with SG), and overall I think the songs are getting heavier and speedier (almost breakneck!) because the entire band is so charged up with the material, how fuckin good they (know) they sound, and being back at the top of the global playlist, -finally getting the mainstream credit they deserve (which fell away around 95, when they sensibly ducked out of getting 'papped' to death).

Anyway, the drumming currently is fucking brilliant - for a start you can actually HEAR it really clearly in the mix, and I think Matt is leading the charge (slightly ahead of the wave?), but it's because the band are tight as it fucking gets, and they are working more like a living breathing combined force, rather than some typical loose collection of individuals. It's not surprising tho, considering where they and we have been;come from, and come through.

(stop me if I'm going too far here won't ya!?) ;)

Anyway, this is Rocknroll par excellence - I've never heard better. and this view is being supported by lots of other members in lots of other threads I believe.

I've got Not4U, MSG2 playing as I type and Matt is bang on the money - nailing it to the f'in floor. Top work!