do you tip for carry out?

2»

Comments

• PearlOfAGirlPearlOfAGirl Posts: 15,993
    I don't :shifty:

Wish you were here...

~RIP Dad
  • RW81233RW81233 Posts: 2,393
    is there a way we could do a poll of people who have and have not worked in the restaurant/bar industry and how that correlates to their propensity to or to not tip?
  • unlost dogsunlost dogs Posts: 12,553
    RW81233 wrote:
    is there a way we could do a poll of people who have and have not worked in the restaurant/bar industry and how that correlates to their propensity to or to not tip?

I never worked as waitstaff, but when I was a nurse manager hiring people to work in a busy emergency department I had a widely known preference for hiring nurses and clinical assistants who had been waitstaff or bartenders. They can always deal with multiple conflicting demands, have good customer service skills, and tend to get it right the first time.

I did once work at McDonalds and was briefly promoted from the counter to the grill, then rapidly demoted back to a register after screwing up an order of Filet o'Fish. I sent a customer off with a bag of six of them, but I forgot to put in the fish patty. So when he got home all he had was six buns with a strip of yellow cheese and a splurt of mayo. He was PISSED when he came back. The manager later explained that it didn't help that I doubled over laughing in front of the customer when I realized what happened. Funny to think that they'd then put me back in a position where I'd be dealing with cash...
    15 years of sharks 06/30/08 (MA), 05/17/10 (Boston), 09/03/11 (Alpine Valley), 09/04/11 (Alpine Valley), 09/30/12 (Missoula), 07/19/13 (Wrigley), 10/15/13 (Worcester), 10/16/13 (Worcester), 10/25/13 (Hartford), 12/4/13 (Vancouver), 12/6/13 (Seattle), 6/26/14 (Berlin), 6/28/14 (Stockholm), 10/16/14 (Detroit)
  • The JugglerThe Juggler Posts: 48,617
    why on earth would anyone tip for this?
    www.myspace.com
  • chadwickchadwick Posts: 21,157