Guitar Scales?

airborellaairborella Posts: 3
edited April 2004 in Musicians and Gearheads
What exactly are guitar scales. Is this something that I really need to know when playing the guitar. I have been playing for a few years and I realized I dont really know the correct way to play. I have tought myself everything I know. All that I know I have learned through tabs. But when I try do do my own solos, or play blues I cant really get it to sound right. Will knowing guitar scales make it easier for me to do solos? Does anyone know of a really good site that can explain them to me real easily?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• djyman15djyman15 Posts: 181
    scales will make your solos a bazillion times easier (see I even made up a word, thats how much better it makes you) I dont really feel like typing out a lesson for you right now, but if you go to http://www.giventowail.com they have a lesson there, it will teach you everything you need. I think its under chord building, but its necessary for solos too
    "Even if your heart would listen, I doubt I could explain"-Jimmy Eat World
  • ShredShred Posts: 28
    u can learn a scale but it doesnt mean u can solo in a way that ppl will want to listen. u have to use a scale as pathways to creating music and solos. thats all they are, but they are fucking handy if u know how to use them
  • what helped me learn my way around the fretboard was just jamming along to neil young songs like cortez the killer...and almost anything on greendale...just try to match the solos, play aournd, keep the scales in mind...it helps you even when it might not seem like you're learning that much...but for each their own
    Teamwork. Rawk. Pwnage. Infinite Possibilities. YIELD. Hells yeah.
  • MONKEYNUTSMONKEYNUTS Posts: 114
    MONKEYNUTS ROte dis oUt a few weekS AGo FOR SOMEOne else askiN A SIMiLAr questIoN oN HERE. HE HoPES It HElps and he hOPES Its also RIte, Lol

0||--|--|O|--|O|--|--|O|--|O|--|O|--|