Options

Pro Audio

mccreadyisgodmccreadyisgod Bumfuq, MT Posts: 6,395
edited October 2003 in Musicians and Gearheads
So, just out of curiosity, how many of the gearheads on here are industry folks? I am a sound system engineer/front of house/monitor technician for the University here. All live sound, in a whole variety of settings: small bar-style gigs, medium "concerts", a live radio-broadcast show, and full-fledged concert production. I've done stuff for solo acoustic acts, bad rock cover bands, really interesting (if obscure) local original acts, and touring bands. Last big name I worked with was Built to Spill. Those guys are great, very laid back, easy to talk to. Anyways, just wanted to see if there were any live engineers, recording engineers, or what have you in the Jamily.

Oh, and any tips for recording an acoustic guitar? I'm going into the studio this weekend to produce my friend's third album. I've got AKG 414's, Shure SM81's, a Neumann TLM 103, a Neumann KLM 184, and an Avalon U5 Direct Box. No outboard compression or FX, just Focusrite pre's straight into ProTools. Need a really good (think Emmylou Harris or Ani DiFranco) acoustic tone, he plays alterna-folk with an indie flavor. Gonna be adding drums, electric bass, samples, some drum machine, some harmonica, some electric guitar, and some slide guitar, depending on the track, so I need a tone that is warm and rich but will sit in the mix.

Any ideas?
...and if you don't like it, you can suck on an egg.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    Pacomc79Pacomc79 Posts: 9,404
    the avalons and focusrites should be clean enough those mics are great. No need to add much compression from that setup I would think with a good guitar. I'd go with something with a rosewood back or cedar top. I have an all maple and it's great live but to bright to record.