Options

Rugs - Tips and Advice

I'm looking for an area rug but have no idea where to buy a quality area rug and not get raked over the coals by paying some hipster markup for something they probably swindled for $3 in Turkey.  Does anyone know of reputable places to shop or have any tips?  I like vintage looks, such as ...

Comments

• Options
    mace1229mace1229 Posts: 8,993
    My wife loves rugs. She gets them at tj maxx.  They seem like good quality, but I’m no rug expert. 

Why are rugs the one thing stores advertise being imported? I never got that.
  • Options
    FifthelementFifthelement Lotusland Posts: 6,907
    My only advice if you’re thinking of purchasing a Persian or Oriental carpet is to do your research.  What textiles do you want?  Silk? Wool? A blend of both? Etc.  Are you thinking family heirloom or just something for the next five years?  A quick google search can help immensely.  The first few points in this site can help.
     https://theculturetrip.com/middle-east/iran/articles/8-tips-for-buying-the-perfect-persian-carpet/

Good luck!  We have five now.  The husband bought our first one when deployed to Bahrain.  He spent his downtime researching and then checking out the local shops.  Have a price in mind, haggle and be prepared to walk away.

This one measures ~14’ x 6’ and is a silk/wool blend.   I don’t recall exactly how much we paid, but I think it was around $3500-$4000 USD.

The other four are smaller, around 6’ x 4’.  Three are silk and one is a silk/wool blend.  We bought these in Israel when he was deployed there for just over $4000 CAD I think.

We love them all. We made some exceptional bargains.  Don’t lowball, but definitely be prepared to walk away.  All are hand-woven.   Definitely family heirlooms.

Good luck with your search.  Post a picture when you find something.
    "What the CANUCK happened?!? - Esquimalt Barber Shop
  • Options
    Jeff has a nice one
    brixton 93
    astoria 06
    albany 06
    hartford 06