Options

Getting rights to a song

riley540riley540 Denver Colorado Posts: 1,128
hello all! 

I am a film student at the colorado film school. I am creating a short around a person who records vocals over a tape in their apartment in an effort to join a band. 

I thought it it would be cool to use footsteps and make it some what of a true story. 

To submit my film into our awards show I need written permission to use the song. Can anyone by chance point me in the right direction? 

Thank you! 

Comments

• Options
    drakeheuer14drakeheuer14 Posts: 4,387
    Probably have to go through ASCAP or someone of the likes. 
    Pittsburgh 2013
    Cincinnati 2014
    Greenville 2016
    (Raleigh 2016)
    Columbia 2016
  • Options
    JOEJOEJOEJOEJOEJOE Posts: 10,422
    You need a sync license, which is granted by the song's publisher, as well a master use license, which is granted by the owner of the recording (usually the record label, or the band, if the rights have reverted back to them.)
  • Options
    GardenpartyGardenparty Posts: 1,908
    edited March 2019
    “I know this song so well, I can smoke a cigarette, have a drink, brush my teeth, take a shit, and mow the lawn while singing it. But I'll only be doing a couple of those things during this version.”
  • Options
    After getting in touch with management, they could not allow me to use the song I wanted to use. So I made the film and loosely based it off of the song I wanted and had my friend write and record all original music for it. 

Let me know now what you think 👍🏼🤘🏻

https://youtu.be/4JpRkExhIyU
  • Options
    vercemanverceman Posts: 680