Schizophrenia

ShynerShyner Posts: 1,226
The government really needs to help out these people they are walking the cold streets with this disease. 

Comments

• ehbaconehbacon Posts: 1,964
    Schizophrenia is an absolutely horrific disease. Not many diseases that i would rather be dead than have, but schizophrenia is one of them. I'm a psychology student, so I've learned much about the disease.
    Listen to some of my music here (if you want to): [url="My soundcloud"]
  • ShynerShyner Posts: 1,226
    Alzheimer's as well
    MS
  • Meltdown99Meltdown99 None Of Your Business... Posts: 10,739
    Yes, it’s a horrible illness.  Yes, the government really needs to do more for people with mental health.
    Give Peas A Chance…
    They are digging a hole by closing down hospitals. The funding is being stripped. 
    I dont see anyone stepping up for this disease. Its horrible. 
    Shyner said:
    They are digging a hole by closing down hospitals. The funding is being stripped. 
    I dont see anyone stepping up for this disease. Its horrible. 
    I assume your American.  Mental Health here in Ontario is not well funded.
    Give Peas A Chance…
  • brianluxbrianlux Moving through All Kinds of Terrain. Posts: 40,554
    Many of California's mental institutions were closed back in the 1970 and the patients were basically just turned out into the streets.  Now, it's true that most of those institutions were wretched, hellish places where people were treated poorly at best, abused horribly at worst, but instead of rebuilding or revamping them, they were just closed.  That was a terrible legacy of then governor  Reagan's administration and one that still is in need of major improvements.  I imagine in some places it's even worse.
    “The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man [or woman] who lives fully is prepared to die at any time.”
    Variously credited to Mark Twain or Edward Abbey.