Options

Matt Cameron

bosshogg18bosshogg18 Tacoma, WA Posts: 1,082
edited September 2011 in The Porch
Watching Matt Cameron with Soundgarden was like cheating on your girlfriend with your wife. It was weird to see him with Soundgarden after seeing him with Pearl Jam 25+ times. With Pearl Jam, I always thought he was good, but not great. With Soundgarden he was AMAZING.
I am by no means a drumming expert, but he just had a lot more energy and his style was completely different. I don't know if this is because he was brought into PJ after they were already an established band and he had to adapt to their style, whereas with SG he was their drummer from the start. I would like to know what others think on this matter.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    I think I agree with you about his energy with Soundgarden versus with Pearl Jam.
    IF YOU WANT A PLATE OF MY BEEF SWELLINGTON, YOU'RE GOING TO HAVE TO PAY THE COVERCHARGE.
  • Options
    At the risk of becoming redundant... I'll add my two bits:

Matt was freaking amazing with Soundgarden. Tight and crisp drumming, varying tempos, even some backing vocals (loved "Black hole sun, black hole sun"!). As much as I always have liked him... he really stood out to me in Vancouver- much like the OP stated.

Wouldn't want anyone other than him for PJ though.

Hopefully Soundgarden and PJ can coordinate their activities so that Cameron can wear both hats. He's just going to have to be a busy guy. We'll cheer really loud when the bands introduce him though!!
    "My brain's a good brain!"
  • Options
    It's because in Soundgarden, he is a TRUE MASTER.
    To Pearl Jam, he is just a slave.
    :D:D:D

It's just different styles.
    Pearl Jam doesn't do drum heavy songs so much.
    Soundgarden really lets Matt KICK OUT THE JAMS!

AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME.
    or as Cookie Monster would say,
    NOM NOM NOM!
    If I was to smile and I held out my hand
    If I opened it now would you not understand?