Options

Tomas Young news, Is The Pen Mightier Than the Sword?

2»

Comments

• Options
    patrickredeyespatrickredeyes Posts: 8,834
    Just to preface before anyone tries to flame me - I'm not saying that this young man is no less a hero. My only thought is that he was in action for 5 days and sustained noticeable physical harm. What happens to all the other service men and women who spent years on the front lines and still suffer mentally/emotionally? My brother, a Marine, spent my entire freshman year of college on the front lines in Iraq (2002-2003) and still won't talk about what he saw and did. If you don't know him well, you would have no idea. You can't see it (at least since the desert bacteria eating the coloring of his skin went away) or tell by just talking to him. No one thanks him or gives him so much as a hand shake (except the old guys at the local vfw who harass his to join!). There are thousands more like him, too!

I work in the music industry and regularly donate whatever I can get my hands on to auctions for local injured soldiers or give items to the soldier if I can get something from someone they are a fan of. I've never had anyone say no to my request for items. I usually end up with more than I can carry!

I couldn't ask for more from the music community, I just notice that many people get overlooked by the masses.

The ''old guys'' I'm sure know what he's feeling. I agree that many are overlooked once they return. We all should thank every person that has served our country. I wish your brother the very best. Tell him I thank him for all that he has done.
  • Options
    MakeMeCry43MakeMeCry43 Posts: 355