Options

Job Hunting

musicismylife78musicismylife78 Posts: 6,116
edited January 2008 in All Encompassing Trip
I seem to be unemployable. I graduated from college this past year with a degree in Sociology and now have begun the job search after some time thinking and contemplation. Problem is, I am seemingly unemployable. I was lucky enough to not have to work during high school and college, and have had only one “job” which was a summer sports camp deal a few years back. This of course seems to be the hang-up. I don’t have experience. Yet, the only way to get that experience would be to be offered a job. And again, with no job experience, this is a challenge. No one seems to want to hire a person who doesn’t have experience. It’s the catch 22. Obviously I now see that getting a job in high school or college would have been the ideal and helpful in this part of my life. But I can’t do anything about that now.

Anyone have any suggestions? I have a degree and have a lot of volunteer experience, but thus far haven’t had much luck in the job search. Is there anything I can do with my resume or the few credentials I have to make my job search more fruitful?

How do I go about this? How can I get hired for a job, with little to no real work experience on my resume?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    LONGRDLONGRD Posts: 6,036
    Don't know, I'm in the same shit hole as you are. My college degree is useless to me, I'm beginning to regret going to college and my internships.

My only guess is to do more non-paid internships, but that won't promise you anything either.

BTW, how the fuck did Peter Jennings get his gig at NBC without a college degree?
    PJ- 04/29/2003.06/24,25,27,28,30/2008.10/27,28,30,31/2009
    EV- 08/09,10/2008.06/08,09/2009
  • Options
    acoustic guyacoustic guy Posts: 3,770
    I know so many people who came home from college were upset b/c they did not have a job after the degree. Thats the real world.