ive been picking wrong all this time

PappasPappas Posts: 809
edited May 2009 in Musicians and Gearheads
ok so i recently realized ive been playing for 4 years and my picking is wrong. i hold the pick with finger and thumb (common mistakes for newbies) instead of the proper way (i youtubed how to hold pick). so im trying to do it properly now but it feels a bit weird and im not as good because ive been playing 4 years the other way! anyway im determined to stay like this and make it feel natural as im sure there are advantages of holding it the 'proper' way.

also how do you guys rest your hand on the guitar in regards to picking? do you use your wrist or forearm and where abouts do you put it and do you move it as you pick different strings or is it always the same reference point? also i have a habit of using my third or fourth finger to rest on the guitar underneath the strings for stability, is this normal or not? whats the best way? no resting on the guitar at all?

Even Flow Psycho Member #039

******Message Pit Australian Tour Members********
rumour starter President & Member #1

www.myspace.com/pappas99
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• ScrapeMySkyScrapeMySky Posts: 426
    I've never had anyone show me how to do it 'properly', but what I do has worked for me and I suck at changing my habits. I rest my little finger underneath the strings when i'm picking and I know that's probably wrong by any standards, but I've given up trying to change it. And hey, I heard Knopfler does it too... So much for 'wrong'. :)