Best Guitar w/ Tremolo

GW100628GW100628 Posts: 5
edited April 2009 in Musicians and Gearheads
I've been playing guitar for a few years now on a variety of guitars; Fender Strat, Tele and SG. I would really like to expand my horizons by getting a guitar with a good tremolo system. Although the Strat has a tremolo it is not very good and very limited as to what it can do. Can anyone recommend a guitar with a good tremolo? Price range anywhere from $1,500 to $2k. I've heard the Ibanez zero bridge system is good, as is the Floyd Rose. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Lee MLee M Posts: 142
    I think you're looking at this a little awkwardly. It's not really the best guitar, it's the tremolo. There are good Strat trems to be had, like the Wilkinson VS-200. That's about the best you can find for that style. I haven't played an Edge Zero yet because it's fairly new, but the original Edge (which was on their guitars from the late 80's up until around 2000 or so) is be best of the Floyd-style Ibanez trems. The Edge III is far more common and newer, but it's not up to par with the original.

Give me a little more direction on what kind of guitar you want and I'll be glad to give you some suggestions.
  • GW100628GW100628 Posts: 5
    You know Lee, you're right; I'm looking at it backwards. Let's start with the guitar; I'd prefer a guitar that's more geared to metal. Given that two of the three guitars I own have fairly chunky necks, I'd like a thin neck. For diversity of tones I would prefer a guitar with three pick-ups. Regarding the tremolo, in addition to something that I can bang the heck out of, I would like a system where you don't screw in the tremolo bar, which is one thing I dislike about the tremolo on my strat. As I said before, any recommendations would be appreciated.