Taxes on unemployment

milarsomilarso Posts: 1,280
edited September 2010 in All Encompassing Trip
I've been collecting unemployment for the last three months, but I elected not to have taxes taken out. Will the government send me a w-2 or something so I can pay the taxes? Not sure what to do...
"The dude abides. I don't know about you, but I take comfort in that. It's good knowin' he's out there. The Dude. Takin' her easy for all us sinners."
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• The JugglerThe Juggler Posts: 48,613
    milarso wrote:
    I've been collecting unemployment for the last three months, but I elected not to have taxes taken out. Will the government send me a w-2 or something so I can pay the taxes? Not sure what to do...

if you elect not to have taxes taken out, i think you will get a 1099 and pay them come tax time. right? i have them being taken out of my check every week so it works like a regular w2 type pay stub. but then again, what the hell do i know?
    www.myspace.com
  • mickeyratmickeyrat Posts: 38,026
    milarso wrote:

if you elect not to have taxes taken out, i think you will get a 1099 and pay them come tax time. right? i have them being taken out of my check every week so it works like a regular w2 type pay stub. but then again, what the hell do i know?
    Sounds about right , to know for sure contact or look up your states unemployment info.
    _____________________________________SIGNATURE________________________________________________

Not today Sir, Probably not tomorrow.............................................. bayfront arena st. pete '94
    you're finally here and I'm a mess................................................... nationwide arena columbus '10
    memories like fingerprints are slowly raising.................................... first niagara center buffalo '13
    another man ..... moved by sleight of hand...................................... joe louis arena detroit '14
  • FlaggFlagg Posts: 5,856