Options

Want to buy a kayak...any help for me?

Sprunkn7Sprunkn7 Posts: 5,277
edited January 2008 in All Encompassing Trip
I have wanted a kayak for a few years now. I finally made the promise to myself that this is the year!! I live on the east coast near Long Island Sound. There are plenty of rivers and lakes around too, but I plan on doing most of my paddling in the sound. I just want to go out and putts around, especially since I am a beginner.
After all the research I have done I am torn between two different kayaks. My first choice is an Ocean Kayak, the Venus 11 sit on top. I am a medium size female, so I have to be able to carry the thing which is 40lbs. I also like the idea of it being self bailing and fairly easy to use. It's plastic so I can beat the snot out of it while I'm learning and not have to worry. It's easy to fish off too. Totally stable so you can swim and get in and out pretty easily.
The other is a Precision kayak. Its heavier and is not self bailing. It is a sit in, but not with a skirt or anything. I know it will track better.
I figure I can always upgrade in a few years if I do more serious kayaking.
Any ideas or info would be helpful. None of my friends are interested so I will be alone a lot and want to be safe!!
Thanks in advance!
Thank you fellow 10 clubber for saving my ass....again!!!
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    ajedigeckoajedigecko \m/deplorable af \m/ Posts: 2,430
    Sprunkn7 wrote:
    I have wanted a kayak for a few years now. I finally made the promise to myself that this is the year!! I live on the east coast near Long Island Sound. There are plenty of rivers and lakes around too, but I plan on doing most of my paddling in the sound. I just want to go out and putts around, especially since I am a beginner.