Options

I don't get it...

casper leblanccasper leblanc Posts: 1,246
edited January 2004 in Poetry, Prose, Music & Art
I work as a journalist so I write for a living, I usually have good ideas, I have a decent way with words and I'm pretty creative. My g/f says I definitely should consider writing a book.

Yet I can't do it... I wouldn't even know where to start or what to write about. I'd suck at fiction. Prose just isn't my thing I guess. Could it be because I've never been a reader? Maybe... Guess I can only pin down someone else's beauty and talent in my interviews or stories, not my own...
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    Maybe you could write an auto-biography. :)

Or just start with some short stories, I'm sure you can think of a little something so that you can use your creative jucies to fill up at least a few pages.

Get a basic idea of something that you want to write about, that could be your start, and just work from there.

It seems that you really want to do this, so, I hope that you find some inspiration and are able to get a start and just let it flow from there! :)
    Forget your perfect offering, there is a crack in everything, that's how the light gets in. - Leonard Cohen
  • Options
    Thanks... self-confidence is a big part in this as well.

Writing a book could be awesome for my career... Here in Belgium, when you write a book, suddenly every magazine or newspaper wants yo to write a column. An average, decent journalist like myself wil never be taken into account for that.

And yes, I really would like to write a book someday :)
  • Options
    even flow?even flow? Posts: 8,066
    Start with a little novelette on your trip to New York. If you are still going? Throw in some spice and you should have yourself writing a little longer and a little longer in no time.
    You've changed your place in this world!
  • Options
    I'm still going :) Nervous though...
  • Options
    even flow?even flow? Posts: 8,066